Hawkesbury Australia Day Awards Winners Announced

The Hawkesbury Australia Day Awards are an integral part of Australia Day celebrations, recognising and honouring the outstanding achievements of everyday Australians in the Hawkesbury.  For the 2016 Hawkesbury Australia Day Awards, Council launched a reinvigorated program to better acknowledge the outstanding citizens of the Hawkesbury.
The Mayor of Hawkesbury, Councillor Kim Ford said that the Hawkesbury Australia Day Awards are an important way for the contributions of those in the Hawkesbury to be recognised.
“In the Hawkesbury we are very fortunate to have an abundance of individuals and organisations that are involved in their community and who contribute to the Hawkesbury in a diverse number of ways.”
“I am very pleased to be able to present these awards to worthy individuals and organisations of the Hawkesbury community on Australia Day. I am proud to stand here and acknowledge their achievements and praise them for their efforts.”
Richmond Club Chairman Geoff Luscombe presented a number of awards on the day. He said that the Richmond Club takes great pride from recognising the outstanding work done by residents in the Hawkesbury.
“Today is an extremely important day to recognise the hard work and dedication shown by our award recipients to make the Hawkesbury a better place.’
“As Richmond Club contributes to over 200 community organisations each year throughout the Hawkesbury, we witness many of these stories each and every day.”
The 2016 Hawkesbury Australia Day Awards are proudly sponsored by Hawkesbury City Council and Richmond Club.
The 2016 Hawkesbury Australia Day Award Winners Are:
Paul Maher, 2016 Citizen of the Year
Blake Atkins and Blake Coaldrake, Joint 2016 Young Citizens of the Year
Marjorie Pettigrew, 2016 Volunteer of the Year
Bowen Mountain Association, 2016 Community Organisation of the Year
Jan Earle, Hawkesbury Local Hero Award
June Greenhalgh, Hawkesbury Local Hero Award
Valmai Turnbull, Hawkesbury Local Hero Award
Paul and Catherine Barber, Hawkesbury Local Hero Award
Macquarie Towns Art Society, Hawkesbury Community Arts Award
Kurrajong Comleroy Historical Society, Hawkesbury Cultural Heritage Award
Macdonald Valley Association, Hawkesbury Environmental Award
Gombeeree and Yellomundi, 2016 Commemorative Plaque
Connect online with your friend, your community and your club.
© 2021 Richmond Club