CEO Kimberley Talbot honoured with NSW Community Service Award

Issued 8 December: Hawkesbury Electorate Office

Member for Hawkesbury Robyn Preston MP recently presented NSW Government Community Service Awards to Karen Hodges, NSW Rural Fire Service Superintendent and Kimberley Talbot, CEO of Richmond Club for their outstanding service to the community during the NSW Black Summer bushfires of 2019-2020.The awards ceremony was held at Richmond Club where NSW Deputy Premier The Hon. John Barilaro, Resilience NSW Commissioner Shane Fitzsimmons and Mayor of Hawkesbury City Council Patrick Conolly were in attendance.

Kimberley Talbot was commended for going above and beyond the call of duty to open the doors of the club and provide a ‘safe place’ to those who were impacted and fleeing the dangers of the bushfires.

Kimberley co-ordinated meals, temporary accommodation and an area for pets to be kept as self-evacuees quietly waited out the destructive fires.

Karen Hodges was commended for co-ordinating the fight against the Gospers Mountain bushfire, which burnt through a million hectares and required up to 3,000 firefighters across the ground at any one time.

She also provided constant, highly effective and in depth intelligence briefings to the Premier, Ministers, Members of Parliament, officials and organisations.

“I thank these two wonderful women for their amazing work during our community’s time of need. It is fitting that they received the thanks and recognition they deserve as recipients of this prestigious award,” Ms Preston said.

The awards ceremony also saw the 23 Rural Fire Services Brigades from within the Hawkesbury Electorate and Group Captains presented with Hawkesbury Community Appreciation Awards for their outstanding effort in protecting the community during the bushfires.

“Recognising our community heroes is the least we can do. Hawkesbury is a community that comes
together in times of crisis. Special appreciation must also go to Richmond Club for hosting the awards ceremony.” Ms Preston said.

Pictured: (Top) Kimberley Talbot.
(Middle): Commissioner Shane Fitzsimmons, Kimberley Talbot, Deputy Premier John Barilaro and Hawkesbury MP Robyn Preston.
(Bottom): Kimberley Talbot with Richmond Club directors Jim Bullock, Elissa Esposito, Di Finch, Scott Rielly, vice chairman Garry Watterson and Peter Chidgey.